my ultimate carolina beach music playlist

I’m going to the beach a week from tomorrow. Last Friday I decided I needed a beach music playlist…NOT a California beach music playlist, but a CAROLINA beach music playlist.

And there is a difference.

The creation of my beach music playlist is responsible for the earlier post, Double-Shot. Most of the songs are there because they are indeed Carolina beach classics, although some have been re-mastered. The rest are there because I remember listening to them as a child, when you could go to Cherry Grove and avoid the Myrtle Beach crowds.

So, here it is…..my ultimate Carolina beach music playlist:

  1. I Love Beach Music (The Embers)
  2. Summertime’s Calling Me (The Catalinas)
  3. Myrtle Beach Days (The Fantastic Shakers)
  4. Ocean Boulevard (Band of Oz)
  5. Carolina Girls (General Johnson and the Chairmen of the Board)
  6. With This Ring (The Platters)
  7. Miss Grace (The Tymes-remastered)
  8. You’re More Than a Number in My Little Red Book (The Embers)
  9. Double-Shot of My Baby’s Love (The Swingin’ Medallions)
  10. Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy (The Tams)
  11. Hey, Hey Baby (Bruce Channel)
  12. Dock of the Bay (Otis Redding…and Yes, I know it’s San Fran…)
  13. Up on the Roof (The Drifters)
  14. Sixty-Minute Man (The Embers)
  15. Under the Boardwalk (The Drifters-re-recording)
  16. Save the Last Dance for Me (The Drifters-re-recording)
  17. Hey Baby/39-21-46/I’ve Been Hurt (Buddy Causey)
  18. Hold Back the Night (The Trammps)
  19. Unchained Melody (The Righteous Brothers)
  20. How Sweet it Is (Marvin Gaye)
  21. Love Potion Number Nine (The Searchers)
  22. Turn Around, Look at Me (The Vogues)
  23. Going Outta My Head/Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You (The Letterman)
  24. Soul and Inspiration (The Righteous Brothers)
  25. You’ve Lost that -Lovin’ Feeling (The Righteous Brothers)
  26. Poison Ivy (The Coasters-re-recording)
  27. There Goes My Baby (The Drifters-re-recording)
  28. On Broadway (The Drifters-re-recording)
FWIW….Pass me the Coppertone, please. 
4 responses to “my ultimate carolina beach music playlist

  1. Oh, had to add one more: Stand By Me (Ben E.King)

    I feel better now.

  2. Yeah, that one needs to be there.

  3. JERRY MITCHELL

    Walking up a one way street – little Willie john

  4. I Slipped A Little by Percy Milen and She Can
    ‘t Fix Grits by Shagtime band

Leave a Reply

