My so-called life

Wasn’t that a movie or something? Doesn’t really matter….

Where to start: I was thinking about taking down this blog, mainly because most of what I have to say about the state of the world right now is EXTREMELY politically incorrect, and while I stick by my opinions I’m really not in the mood to piss anyone off. Life is interesting enough.

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago I got a “comment awaiting approval” message, which means it a. isn’t spam, and b. isn’t from someone this blog recognizes. So I checked it out. Hans, you’re PhD dissertation topic and title are freakin’ AWESOME, and best of luck to you.

Yes, I watched the big wedding with my Anglophile daughter, live at o’dark-thirty in the morning. It was refreshing to see something, anything, positive on the tube for a change. The thing that struck me hardest was the music. Oh, how I miss music….GOOD music. The choral anthem by John Rutter, “This is the Day”, was amazing. I had forgotten how beautiful his music is, simultaneously medieval and modern. I’ll leave a sample for you.

Just finished up a 5 credit hour Anatomy and Physiology class. It was hard, and I loved it. Didn’t really realize how consuming it had been until today, first day post-class that I had no place to be and nothing pressing to do. I crashed, and crashed hard. At any rate, now when I watch “Bones” I understand the medical squint-speak. I’m such a geek.

Wubby has been pushing and shoving his way out of the nest, which really wasn’t necessary because he’s been free to go. He made a rather unfortunate mistake that is keeping him from leaving until all debts are paid in full to all injured parties. Bless his little heart, he needs to sprout wings, and pronto. Funny, I went back and read my last post. When I got to the quoted part my first thought was, “Where did I copy that from? I can’t remember…”. Then I remembered, I wrote that. Duh! I really miss my brain.

My anglophile baby girl went to school dressed as….a GIRL today. She cleans up nicely, and is coming into her own. She’s developed quite a wanderlust, which surprises the heck out of me since, a year ago, she wouldn’t accept a gift week to adventure camp 2 hours away because she was “afraid she’d get homesick.” Now she wants to travel Europe w/ a backpack. I like this girl.

For some reason that I can’t put my finger on, I feel like I’m losing my best friend and I don’t know why. I know exactly what that feels like, because I lived through it several times, to the point where I quit trying to make friends because I didn’t want the pain of leaving them behind as would invariably happen. Maybe it’s the “facing the reality of being 50”.

Then again, maybe not. Maybe it’s nothing. I’m hyper-sensitive to everything right now, physical, mental and spiritual.

Anyway, here’s the John Rutter I promised. The lyrics are a prayer from the “Sarum Book of Hours, 1514”:

God be in my head and in my understanding.

God be in my eyes and in my looking.

God be in my mouth and in my speaking.

God be in my heart and in my thinking.

God be at my end and at my departing.

2 responses to “My so-called life

  1. I fail to see why you shouldn’t post every politically incorrect feeling you’ve got at the moment. God knows the rest of us are doing it. It’s very cathartic. I think the point is we’ve all got VERY strong opinions these days and if we can’t get them out in our own spaces then there isn’t much point in having our own spaces now is there?

    And speaking of which, for as long as you and I have known each other we have always had at least a handful of diametrically (I’m sure I just spelled that very wrong) opposed view points and have posted those view points and not a single drop of blood has been shed best I can tell and if WE can do that we blast the rest of the world.

    So sayeth the lipsticked lizard anyway.

  2. I’m tired. I’m sure you can work out that last paragraph. xxoo

Leave a Reply

