a formerly competant woman looks at 50

 

So it’s December 31st, again, and according to the rules in Blogohstan we’re all supposed to sum up our year in nifty little snippets, yadda yadda sis boom bah and all that jazz.

Truth is, I haven’t been feeling much like being a proper citizen of Blogohstan because I woke up one morning in 2010, don’t remember which one, looked at myself in the mirror, and said to the face staring back at me, “GRANDMA! How did you get in my mirror?” followed by “However you managed it, GET OUT! NOW, WOMAN!!”

But, she’s not leaving. She lives in there now. I think I went into a coma or something around 1985 and came out of it in 2010 wondering “what the hell happened to that person that used to be me?” Yep, that’s got to be it.

Counting today, I have 19 more days before TEOTWAIKI and frankly I am scared to death.

So it’s time to put on my Scarlet O’Hara and say “I can’t think about that right now. I’ll think about it tomorrow.”

Today I remember:

  • Finding out, the hard way, that Hubby can no longer consume shellfish, and that if you want emergency room service FAST, have an serious allergic reaction to something.
  • The absolute coldest weekend in Valle Crucis, ever.
  • Not going to  Cielo.
  • Wubby flunking out of community college while his little sister overcame her fear of all things academic and became a learning sponge.
  • Reading Atlas Shrugged at the beach and thinking, Now it all makes sense.
  • Wubby moving out to try life on his own.
  • Riding in my first horse show.
  • Falling off several horses and living to get on and ride again. Except for Chick-horse; we broke up.
  • Bikram
  • Knitting enough socks to keep a centipede’s little feet warm all winter long.
  • Hillbilly time and feeling absolutely loved, no words required from anyone to prove it.
  • Taking Wubby to Metropolis in hopes that his eyes would be opened. Not so much.
  • Wubby moving back home.
  • Losing two feline friends, and gaining two new feline friends.
  • The Christmas that wasn’t quite, and the day after that flat out wasn’t. (There’s something insipid about December 26th, isn’t there?)

So now what?

I think Grandma knows, but she’s not telling. She just looks at me and gives me her best wicked little grin, that one that always said “I’ve got a secret!”

2 responses to “a formerly competant woman looks at 50

  1. maybe we should read about what Jimmy Buffetman had to say about it. Scared? Really? I find that interesting although talk to me in April when it is my turn.

    You are (and grandma in the mirror is) beautiful. If we individually don’t learn to see that, we’re doomed. If we don’t culturally learn that, we’re doomed too.

  2. Yes, there is something insipid about December 26. I’ll try to remember that for next year and cancel it. Ought to work, after all I cancel Tuesdays all the time and get away with it.

    50. BAH! BAH! BAH! Stop that immediately. I was laying flat on my back in the hot room this morning after having stepped on the scale and thought to myself, Self, you weigh precisely 25 lbs less than you did when you delivered your last baby. Erm. Ahem. I’m listening to CG on this one. Now I’m going to have my post bikram nap and I’m thankful December is gone. We’re done with that. NEXT!

Leave a Reply

