Adventures in “physical education”

Must. Go. Bikram. 9:30!!!

Bikram yoga. Heh. I really wish I’d taken a “before” picture, not that the current “after” picture would be all that different, but probably enough to notice at least a little.  Bikram and horseback riding are the only two athletic activities I’ve ever stuck with more than, oh, about 48 hours. Horseback riding is easy to stick with because it’s fun and you get to hug the horse and get hugs back.

Bikram, on the other hand….why this madness?  It’s insane, really. I ran into a friend at the mall last Saturday, which was weird because I hardly ever go to the mall and neither does she. Anyway, we spent a few minutes catching up and she asked how the fibro mess was going. I said “better, because I’ve lost my mind and started doing Bikram yoga.” She said, “You HAVE lost your mind.”

The teen-aged girl anthem of my generation is Janis Ian’s “At Seventeen”. Love that song, and there’s the line about girls “whose names were never called when choosing sides for basketball.” That was me. Sometimes I was chosen next-to-last, because I’ve been relatively tall since about 4th grade. However, we all know that being tall does not make you a basketball player, just like standing in a garage doesn’t make you a car, or going to church makes you a Christian. When I was in the 8th grade, my PE teacher gave me a “B” because, as she said, “The girl is smart, but she can’t do a SINGLE sit-up.” When I started Bikram and attempted the first sit-up, that tape from 8th grade started playing in my head. And I couldn’t do the sit-up without it actually being a backward push-up. Stick that hand behind me and push myself up. Yep, my sit-up.

Well, now I can do a sit-up. Correctly. Without having anyone hold my feet down, or cheating and sticking that hand right hand behind to push. Take THAT, 8th grade PE teacher.

Monday was riding day. I got out of the car wearing Walmart stretch jeans and a t-shirt and riding instructor said “Look at you, skinny legs!” Who, me???? Freaked myself out, too,  jumped verticals in the ring, field jumped, cantered the field. Yay for me and Inki, we’re making progress. Then, after riding and hosing down and turning out, just walking around the barn, I twist my ankle and fall down, and I have bruises to prove it.

Sigh.

Riding instructor also teaches Zumba. I wanna try it. Maybe it’ll help me with my walking skills?

Time to get my gym bag packed. Bikram at 9:30. I have 2 goals: to remain standing during standing series, and to at least attempt a toe stand.

One response to “Adventures in “physical education”

  1. you know, I never did like that song — maybe that was why! LOL! I was always coordinated and actually remember wondering about that. This sounds so good and I’m really looking forward to seeing you in a couple weeks!

Leave a Reply

