on H.R.3200

I couldn’t help it, really I couldn’t. I had to go and look at it for myself.

H.R.3200 – America’s Affordable Health Care Choice Act. A.A.H.C.A If you try and pronounce the acronym you get something that sounds not unlike my cat just before he hawks up a hairball.

Same thing happened to me when I started reading this bill. No, I haven’t read all 1006 pages. Heck, I didn’t get past page, well, who knows–you don’t get page numbers when you view it online. It’s really close to the top, though.

‘SEC. 1173A. STANDARDIZE ELECTRONIC ADMINISTRATIVE TRANSACTIONS
‘(a) Standards for Financial and Administrative Transactions-

‘(1) IN GENERAL- The Secretary shall adopt and regularly update standards consistent with the goals described in paragraph (2).

‘(2) GOALS FOR FINANCIAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE TRANSACTIONS- The goals for standards under paragraph (1) are that such standards shall–

‘(A) be unique with no conflicting or redundant standards;

‘(B) be authoritative, permitting no additions or constraints for electronic transactions, including companion guides;

‘(C) be comprehensive, efficient and robust, requiring minimal augmentation by paper transactions or clarification by further communications;

‘(D) enable the real-time (or near real-time) determination of an individual’s financial responsibility at the point of service and, to the extent possible, prior to service, including whether the individual is eligible for a specific service with a specific physician at a specific facility, which may include utilization of a machine-readable health plan beneficiary identification card;

Let’s see here….why do we even need paragraph 1?? No wonder the thing is 1000+ pages long.

(B)…no…constraints for electronic transactions…not sure I wanna know what that means, but am afraid I do as it is defined elsewhere in the bill. Wait for it.

(C)…minimal augmentation by paper….um, 1000+ pages.

(D) (the juicy part of this little section is highlighted for ya) Excuse me? Eligible for a specific service WITH A SPECIFIC PHYSICIAN AT A SPECIFIC FACILITY???? How’s that work w/ the patient’s right to see any provider s/he chooses? Health plan beneficiary identification card?? We can’t have an ID card that distinguishes citizens from non-citizens for purposes like, oh, I don’t know, VOTING, but we can have an ID card for this?

I’ve bookmarked the text of this bill. At first I thought I could use it as reading material for those nights when I can’t sleep at all, or wake up at 3:00 AM w/ fibro pain and can’t get back to sleep. However, upon further reflection, I don’t believe it to be prudent to read this material and then try to sleep.

Nightmares.

Leave a Reply

