vs.

(I’m donning my flame-retardant PJs before hitting the publish button, with great fear and trembling!)

Heard about this and I’m pulling my hair out.

Where do you even start? Atheists and agnostics are ticked off because they feel left out of a holiday that celebrates something they don’t believe. So someone is actually spending money to make them feel better about themselves because of their unbelief?

Ya know, I don’t believe in Allah. What if I decide that all the fuss over Ramadan leaves me out? I wanna fast all day and party all night too! I could do that, regardless of my lack of Islamic faith. But I’d rather make sure the Muslim community knows I feel left out, so I put up flyers outside the local Mosque. What would happen?

How about this: if you don’t believe it, don’t celebrate it. Celebrate something you do believe, have a Wonderful Winter Solstice, or whatever.

Or, shut up and celebrate your whatever and leave everyone else’s whatevers alone.

Harsh, I know. But how far does this go?

When I was in high school there was a guy in my homeroom from Iran. Every day, first thing, we said the Pledge of Allegiance and, every day, he sat at his desk. Fine. He wasn’t an American citizen; we were, enough said.

Now we have this. Who’s being inconvenienced here? The American children in an elementary school, in America, who want to say the pledge. Why? So the children who don’t want to say the pledge won’t be uncomfortable. Is this really about those kids, or is it something else?

Sometimes I wonder what’s happening to our country. When did the feelings of the few take precedence over those of any and all others? Or over common sense, for that matter??

Or how about this? Son wrote a paper in English class (college Freshman) about tolerance and bigotry in America. He was supposed to make an observation and then support it with factual evidence. His observation was that American society had become more tolerant of ethnic and cultural differences over the past 100 years. One item he used to support his observation was the advancement of women’s rights. His professor failed him on the paper. She said his observation was unsupportable.

Did you catch that? SHE said. What were her odds of being a college professor 100 years ago? Could she vote?

He discussed this with her. He pointed out that we have an African-American president-elect, and asked the question, “Isn’t Obama’s election proof of a decline in racial intolerance?” Her answer was no, because bigotry only occurs when the majority of people hold a negative opinion of a minority group. That means that if a WASP in America holds a negative opinion of a person of another race in America, that’s bigotry, at least for now, because there’s a larger number of WASPs than any other racial group. It’s changing.

But if, say, a Martian (certainly a minority in our society in terms of numbers; I don’t know many Martians) has a negative opinion of, well, most anyone, he or she isn’t a bigot.

That means that it’s ok for citizens who want to say the Pledge to be made to feel uncomfortable, to be inconvenienced by those, citizens or not, who don’t want to.

It just makes my head spin around backwards and my stomach want to spew forth split pea soup!

We looked up the word “bigotry” in the old Webster’s collegiate, and gosh-darned, it didn’t say a thing about numbers. No “majority” vs. “minority” in numbers. One social group vs. another, period.

How does my son deal with this?

How do any of us deal with it?

I’m reminded of a fairy tale: The Emporer’s New Clothes.

5 responses to “vs.

  1. well, that’s pretty much what I say about abortion . . . if you’re against it, don’t have one.

    And you know, I agree with you mostly. But there are things I would interpret differently. Individuals have every right to practice ANY religion. But our government doesn’t have any rights and should support no religion at all. Etc.

  2. It really ain’t the government here….it’s the mentality of political correctness. Take the college prof for instance: son’s point about women is supportable. Her position as a prof proves his point. But it isn’t politically correct to say that there’s been improvements in womens’ rights because Hillary was treated badly by the media. Thus, no real change and a failing grade.

    Since it isn’t politically correct to be a Christian, we get nailed for being intolerant of atheists / agnostics over celebrating Christmas.

    Here’s what son learned in English class: He is intolerant of intolerant people.

    Or something like that.

  3. yeah, well don’t get me started on the age of entitlement (which I’m pretty sure is what’s behind all this (and I have grammar issues today I think)). I’ve got an entire post or two bottled up on the E generation, the kids who expect everything equal, you know, trophies for all, no winners no losers and no one feels uncomfortable. I’m just still all bolloxed up over it.

  4. Yes, Cielo, the prof is stupid. At least in that area. Being an other than Christian myself however, my perspective is a bit different. I don’t think the protesters and such should interfere with someone else’s celebration but I also think that any government anything shouldn’t say “merry Christmas” either. You say it, the stores say it, etc. I’ve also been on the side of, say, prayer at graduation. Led by a student. Well, you know how many Hindus live over in the Coalfields — now imagine one of them is valedictorian (not a stretch) and does a chant or whatever. Oh, the outrage! You know it would be. So the Christian side is not above their own PCness.

    Also, majority doesn’t rule. If you believe that, you believe in mob rule. Which I know you don’t.

    BUT I swear the most intolerant people I’ve ever met are NOT the folks who think I’m going to hell but the folks who think they are so tolerant of everything. The prof is probably one of them.

  5. Agreed on the intolerant tolerants!

    Hindus? You mean like Dr. Kenwal-or-whatever-his-name-was, the turbanned dude who pierced my ears?

Leave a Reply

