the yard

Back when I was working I used to love to mow the grass, for several reasons. The parameters were well-defined, and never sufferred from scope creep. The process had a definite beginning, progress was obvious, and completion was attainable. I could be creative in the process: mow the front yard first, or the back, or the side; mow in circles, or rows, or both. And I never had to stop in the middle of the process and do something over, or do something for someone else, or switch to another project…unless I wanted to.

I still love to mow the grass, but now the thought processes have changed focus. I look at the maple tree in the front yard, and remember when Wubby was little and we decorated the tree with plastic eggs for Easter. If I picked him up he could reach the top of the tree. Not anymore. Now I mow around the tree and, every time, my mind picks up on an old Bobby Goldsboro song, “Honey”. If you know it, then you know it’s a sappy, tear-jerker of a song. The first line: “See the tree, how big it’s grown.” And it has. “Honey” was a favorite of my Dad’s, and now that he’s gone the song has lost its sappy-ness and gained poignancy.

Here are some pictures Little Girl took around the yard. I’m not sure what the proper name is for the big yellow flower. We call them Wedding Bells, and they grow on that large bushy plant in the next picture. The veggies are a few of the spoils from our baby garden. And the sunflowers are just pretty. Oh, the zuchini plant….good grief.

I’ve never been much of a horticulturist, but I’m learning. It’s never too late, I suppose.

Post Script: Here’s the third verse of the worst country song lyrics, ever:

Well, Bob put out the fire but

Brenda’s engine block was toast

So she jumped up on his Harley

And they headed for the coast

Made a pit stop the next morning

At the Waffle House in York  

Brenda had some coffee and

Bob, he got his pork

 

(chorus)

flames of loooooooooooooooooooooove

watch ‘em buuuuuuuuuuuuuurn

That early breakfast

Wasn’t worth a durn

flames of loooooooooooooooooooooove

well it hurts so baaaaaaaaaaaaad

Didn’t tip the waitress

And dang but she was mad

2 responses to “the yard

  1. oh my.

    I do have scope creep. I have it all over my back yard. One minute I’ve got chickens in a dog house and the next thing you know there’s a ten by thirty foot holding pen. Less grass to cut though.

  2. I guess you could call the garden spot scope creep, since it wasn’t there before. But it was creep that I had control over. The other kind is so not fun.

Leave a Reply

