Taxi! Taxi!

Is it OK for parents to enjor their kids’ sufferring? I hope so, because I’m enjoying this.

My son just left here annoyed because he’s driving his sister and a couple of their friends to a birthday party for Lydia, the girlfriend’s girlfriend. He’s not thrilled about the idea, but his sister assumed he would be going to the party, since Lydia is the girlfriend’s girlfriend. So of course she and the friends would just ride with him.

Only, he didn’t really want to go to the party. Or, judging from his level of personal annoyance when they left, he didn’t really want to go to the party. Sis and friend were waiting in the car for the other friend to walk over from his house and son comes back inside grousing about having to drive people everywhere and not knowing about things until the last minute and so on and so forth. My little ears perked right up when I heard the words “at the last minute” in his rantings. This kid has been the king of “at the last minute” for, what, most of his 18 years? The delicious irony of hearing him utter the words we’ve been screaming at him was just too much. Of course I had to point it out to him. It was fun.

This same kid calls me after school last week and says “I’m going to give Jordan a ride to his guitar lesson before I come home.” I ask, “Where is his lesson?” The answer, “Downtown.” Downtown is a 20 mile roundtrip from school, to downtown, back to home. Mind you, son VOLUNTEERED to do this for Jordan. He didn’t have to, but hey, he’s a nice guy. It would have been OK if son was going to stay home once he got here that afternoon, but he wasn’t. He had a commitment he was supposed to attend (NOTE: WAS SUPPOSED TO.) You’ll never guess where it was? Go ahead, give it a whirl…

 

DOWNTOWN.

 

Gas is expensive and son doesn’t have a job at present, but he’s such a nice guy and all. And he’s dependable. And trustworthy.

Well, there was that speeding ticket last month….

4 responses to “Taxi! Taxi!

  1. oh geeze, here you go writing again and I went and wrote on my blog sidebar that you were tied up by a bear in your living room and still trying to chew up that duct tape…

  2. Not a bear. It is, in fact, a semi-rabid and very vicious chihuahua.

  3. OK, I’ll correct that shortly.

  4. I love your new sidebar Alecto! Was thinking of redoing my own links similarly I liked it so much! And I laughed at the comment about Cielo! And Kmoo.

Leave a Reply

